Thinking of Buying a Copen

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Dom, Sep 19, 2018.

1. Dom

Dom Copenworld Newbie

Car(s):
    2004 Copen 660
    2014 VW Up!
    Hi, I'm new to Copen's but I'm entertaining the idea of buying one I just have a few concerns and questions.
    I've read the buying guide on here and found it very useful, I'm fairly certain I want a 660 but I would also consider a 1.3.
    A few questions I have are,
    What fuel economy do people get in the real world, I primarily drive in slow moving traffic on my commute and my very thirsty Saab is appalling, anything will be an improvement but I'd like to know realistic figures.
    It's hard to tell how big the boot really is, with the roof up what can you expect to get in it?
    Most of my driving is in the city or on A roads but I tend to hit the motorway a couple of times a month for 50+ mile journeys, will this be a chore in a Copen? Can they keep up with traffic or will it be struggling on inclines? Is engine/road/wind noise intrusive, I understand its not a cruiser and won't be nearly as quiet as my Saab but what are peoples opinions on it?

Thanks,
    Dom

Ludwig likes this.
  2. AFR0N1

AFR0N1 Copenworld Regular

Car(s):
    Daihatsu Copen L880K (KMVZW)
    I drive a 659cc Copen.

1. Fuel Economy
    I get about 39-41 MPG in the real world. My driving is mostly in town with some country roads and duel carriage ways.

2. Boot.
    With the roof up I can get my school bag which is full of junk in there and still have lots of space left. There is a video online that shows you can get a golf bag with golf clubs in there...Just.

3. Motorway driving.
    At 70MPH the engine will be doing about 4.5K RPM. Engine and Wind noise is loud at those speeds. I have driven 2 hours on the motorway on my trip to Silverstone and the noise will likely bother most people, but I was going somewhere exciting so I didn't mind it. (Also I just really like engine sounds)