1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The cleaning & detailing thread

Discussion in 'Problems, Fixes, Tips...' started by alz2605, Feb 23, 2014.

1. alz2605

alz2605 Copenworld Regular

Car(s):
    Daihatsu Copen
    VW Golf TDi
    What's your car cleaning routine entail? What products do you recommend?

Never really cleaned a car by hand properly before & just relied on car washes both mechanical ones & more recently drive through hand car washes. But do I want to carry on paying £5 a time for a quick half decent wash with varying results each time? I must easily spend £25 a month getting 2 cars washed!

So how do you actually wash your car properly & what do you use?

Who uses a clay bar? What is a clay bar? How do I get rid of paint swirls & light scratches?

Bring on the knowledge :D

2. debs

debs Copenworld Member

Car(s):
    Copen 659cc '53 plate, plus BMW 520d estate.
    Hi alz2605

I'm not an expert on these things, but I do know that drive-through and even public hand car washes are not recommended if you want to avoid scratches and swirls. I personally use Autoglym products - shampoo (usually once a week, if I'm using Dinky regularly) then a wax and polish whenever I think it's necessary (if the water doesn't 'bead' any more when rinsing, it's usually time to do this). One tip is to not use a sponge to wash your car, as they trap grit, etc., which scratches your paintwork. You should use a microfibre mitt instead. Another tip is to have two mitts and two buckets of soapy water. The first to get the worst dirt off - usually around the wheels, etc., rinse, then use the second bucket to give it an all-over wash.

T-cutting, waxing and polishing will help disguise/ eliminate light scratches, but clay barring is needed for a professional finish. I've not used one as yet, but I'm sure someone else can enlighten you on that score...?

3. Adam K

Adam K Copenworld Guru

Car(s):