1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Servicing

Discussion in 'Problems, Fixes, Tips...' started by Adnan, May 15, 2012.

1. Adnan

Adnan Copenworld Member

Car(s):
    Copen
    I just got my hands on the manual and It looks pretty easy to change the oil on it.

I have a 659cc model and it needs oil changing every 6 months or 3K. So, I am thinking to change the oil myself for every 3k service and for 6k service for the filter and oil change, take it to garage.

Is it just that easy to do it as it says on the manual, considering I have no prior experience of going under the bonnet. I would like to do it though because its not only cost saving but gives a bit of self satisfaction.

Also, which oil is to use. I have been on eurocarparts website and found few different oils and want a second opinion. I was thinking to go for Castrol Magnatec 5W30. Or should I save some money and go for TRIPLE QX 5w30 Semi Synthetic Engine Oil ? Also if fully synthetic is better than semi-synthetic ?

On the manual it says API SG Grade or above but I cannot find it. Is SL / CF or SM / CF same as SG or better ?

Any advice and encouragement will be much appreciated. :)

2. Adam K

Adam K Copenworld Guru

Car(s):
    Nissan Cube Kaizen
    Magnetic 5W30 is what I use. Someone posted that it was on offer at Halfords at the moment.
    Changing the oil is pretty easy. With a low enough oil catch tray you don't need to jack the car up.
    Just don't over fill the fresh oil.

3. Threadbare

Threadbare Copenworld Newbie

The oil change is easy, the filter, not so much.

I use magnatec 5w30 in mine, fully synth ACEA a3/b4 (sadly the halfords half price offer has ended). Any 5w30 full synth should be fine. Just be careful when re-filling with oil as it takes ages to get into the sump making it easy to overfill. I would suggest filling it to the bottom level marker and then leaving overnight to get an accurate reading.