Exhaust question and more

Discussion in 'Modifications' started by Vin Petrol, Feb 1, 2017.

1. Vin Petrol

Vin Petrol Copenworld Regular

Car(s):
    2004 0.7 Copen
    Hi! I'm the proud but sore-faced new owner of a 2004 659cc Copen, I may be suing Daihatsu as I can't find any mention of 'permanent grin' as a possible side-effect of driving one.

I bought her 8 days ago and as it was close to service mileage, located the nearest ex-Daihatsu place and had a full service done today, everything was fine except for a hole in the exhaust, for which they quoted me £427.28 for a genuine replacement from Daihatsu and informed me there were no aftermarket parts (except the ones I can see on Ebay for ~£150).

I'm probably going to get a custom stainless steel exhaust made, mainly for the lifetime guarantee and I'm looking at places around Manchester now, however first I checked out what size to get and got a little education via google on how they work. Now I'm not really a car expert, I always just assumed bigger = more airflow = better, looking into it I read that too large an exhaust can reduce your exhaust velocity and actually lose power..
    Looking at the table here How To Calculate Muffler Size and Exhaust Pipe Diameter - Exhaust Videos, I'm thinking 1.75" or 45mm would be fine right for a .659 Copen up to 108bhp, which is plenty of room for future tinkering without being TOO big.

Anyone with actual experience and knowledge able to advise on that would be appreciated please!

Future mods...as and when my budget allows.

From reading various threads here, looks like a replacement manifold will be a big gain, as will either a sport cat (for emissions) or de-cat (if possible to replace the cat for the MOT :p ).