1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Deposit paid now shoot me !

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by BarnsleyRob, Feb 4, 2017.

1. BarnsleyRob

BarnsleyRob Copenworld Veteran

Car(s):
    2009/59 silver Copen 1298 cc (now gone to a new home)
    Firstly, thanks to everyone for their incredible help over the last hectic few days and David for granting me early access to the Resources section of this great forum.

After 5 hours of driving and 250 miles today, I have paid the deposit on a 2009/59 1300cc with 53k miles on the clock. We agreed a price of £5k to include service, MOT, 12 months warranty and 12 months AA membership. The seller was very helpful and had the car ready on the ramp when I arrived so I could look underneath.

I'm no expert but there were no visible leaks under the engine and apart from a few small spots, the underseal was all intact. I can take care of that in the spring.

I couldn't remove the wheelarch liners so couldn't check that part of the structure but I did notice the front jacking point had been mangled which had split the plastic end cap. No significant rust where it was damaged and they will reshape it before handover. I'll get some protection in there ASAP. What I could see behind the rear bumper was very clean and not a spec of rust in the boot which is unique amongst the 3 I've seen this week. The metalwork behind the from bumper had a couple of spots similar to those highlighted by Tasman I think.

So on to the bits I don't understand:

The roof was down when I drove it on a so-so road (no potholes and tarmac was not patched but quite uneven) towards Leeds Bradford Airport at about 40 mph. I thought the wheels had come loose ! The car steered, accelerated nd stopped okay but it was a very strange feeling so I put the roof up and it was a differet beast entirely. Is this usual ?