1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boot lid wont close properly!

Discussion in 'Problems, Fixes, Tips...' started by apt_copen, Feb 4, 2011.

1. apt_copen

apt_copen Copenworld Newbie

Boot lid wont close properly! H-E-L-P!!! please :)

Hi all
    My 54 reg Copen appears to have an intermittant fault the the boot lid not closing properly.
    Firstly, whenever I open the boot the red roof symbol lights up on the dash... is this normal?
    What happens is that I lower the lid and push down... sometimes the mechanism works and seals the lid down and other times it will seal at the back, but not around the roof and the latch will just release it back to open again!
    Just wondering if this is a boot lid alignment issue/ a sensor issue/ an electrical issue, or whatever?
    I'm a newbie to the forum, so you're advice would be greatly appreciated!:):):)
    All the best!

Last edited: Feb 5, 2011
  2. apt_copen

Boot Lid update...

OK, so I've now tried various re-alignments of the boot lid itself, but closing it is still hit and miss.
    I read as part of a post somewhere here that somebody had problems with the roof control box & causing the boot not to close? I've taken mine apart and all connections look fine. I noticed that when it was disconnected the boot mechanism doesn't work at all. Maybe this unit is faulty?? Has anyone heard this causing boot closing issues??:-(:)-((

3. Rex

Rex Copenworld Pioneer

Car(s):
    Copen
    I've had the boot not closing a couple of times. You push it down, but it does not pull down tight - on any side - so I guess this is not the same as your problem.

Pressing the boot release button some how resets the system then it always works!

I'd love to know what causes the problem - must be a switch or sensor not making.

Rex.

4. Pikachu

Pikachu Copenworld Pioneer

Car(s):
    Yellow '53 reg Copen!