1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help For New Rims & Tires

Discussion in 'Modifications' started by Redders, Jul 3, 2012.

1. Redders

Redders Copenworld Newbie

I've been driving my copen for about two years now and am still absolutely loving it. Besides a new grill, I haven't yet done any modifications to it so it's fully stock, though I've been waiting for my tires to wear out so I have an excuse to change to new ones, with new rims to go along with them. I've always thought the copen looks way better with a set of wheels that stick out at the sides a little and have been itching to get some.

My question is, what will be the effect on the performance of the car, specifically the pick-up, if I change my rims to a set of light weight ones (say 4-5kg) and a wider set of tires, either 185 or 195 width? Will acceleration from standstill require more effort or will it be the other way around?

And how heavy are the stock rims? I've heard that they are pretty heavy but can't seem to find any hard facts on this.

2. hue-vashon

hue-vashon Copenworld Newbie

rims & tyres

Hi Redders

I have been planning on doing the very same. I think the Copen would look much better with slightly wider wheels. I was toying with the idea of gloss black rims on my black 0.7 Copen.