1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3" or 2.5" downpipe?

Discussion in 'Modifications' started by Crystal copen, Aug 28, 2015.

1. Crystal copen

Crystal copen Copenworld Member

Hi, would a 3" downpipe & system be too large for a stock copen? It's completely standard at the moment, we might fit an air filter kit and possibly bigger Intercooler at some point (doubtfull though) :( So probably just end up with a new turbo back system.

Do most go for 3" or better to fit a 2.5" DP & system?

Thanks Dave

2. trustafox

trustafox Copenworld Guru

Car(s):
    Yes
    I'm not an expert on turbo exhausts, more knowledgeable on NA, I've the 1.3. Yeah 3 would be too big for the NA, but I think it might be for a little engine like the Copen turbo. Although they say big bore exhaust is good for turbos. I think because its post turbo you just want to gases out of there. You are not tuning it for laminar flow and scavenging quite like NA can as the turbo will block that effect back to the cylinder. Pre-turbo I think is a different matter as you want gas flow at some optimum speed to spool the snail. To fast and probably give you too much back pressure, too slow flow/low pressure and the turbo might not move much. The 0.7 only emits so much gas volume, putting a drainpipe on it and the gases might wander around like in a big mansion.

her is what I have grabbed...

Again, less pressure downstream of the turbine is goodness. This approach minimizes the time-to-boost (maximizes boost response) and will improve engine VE throughout the rev range.

As for 2.5" vs. 3.0", the "best" turboback exhaust depends on the amount of flow, or horsepower. At 250 hp, 2.5" is fine. Going to 3" at this power level won't get you much, if anything, other than a louder exhaust note. 300 hp and you're definitely suboptimal with 2.5". For 400-450 hp, even 3" is on the small side.”

So 2.5 inch DP is not needed. go for 2 inch.